Call for Papers

Seventh International Conference on UNCONVENTIONAL COMPUTATION UC 2008

Vienna University of Technology, Austria August 25^{th} - 28^{th} , 2008 http://www.emcc.at/UC2008/

> UC 2008 is organized by the Institute of Computer Languages, Vienna University of Technology, and CDMTCS, University of Auckland, New Zealand, under the auspices of EATCS.

> **Original papers** are solicited in *all* areas of unconventional computation. Papers dealing with theory as well as with experiments and applications are welcome. Typical, but not exclusive, topics are: natural computing including quantum, cellular, molecular, neural, and membrane computing as well as evolutionary paradigms; chaos and dynamical systems based computing; proposals for computations going beyond the Turing model.

> **Submissions:** Authors are invited to submit papers (at most 12 pages) electronically, via easychair:

http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=UC2008.

All submissions are expected to be in PDF format. Joint submissions to other conferences are *not* permitted. Each accepted paper *must* be presented at the conference. The proceedings will be published by Springer LNCS series and will be available at the conference.

Invited Speakers: Časlav Brukner, Vienna, Anne Condon, Vancouver, David Corne, Edinburgh, Jon Timmis, York.

Cost of Participation: The registration fee is Euro 390 (before May 30^{th} , late registration fee is Euro 430; reduced fee for students is Euro 290) which includes proceedings, coffee breaks, lunches, and conference dinner.

Workshops associated with UC 2008: Computing with Biomolecules, Optical Supercomputing, Physics and Computation.

Conference Location: The conference and the associated workshops will take place at the Parkhotel Schönbrunn in Vienna just nearby the famous castle of Schönbrunn breathing the imperial air of Austrian history.

Conference History: The first venue of the **Unconventional Computation** Conference (formerly called **Unconventional Models of Computation**) was Auckland, New Zealand, in 1998; subsequent sites of the conference were Brussels, Belgium, in 2000, Kobe, Japan, in 2002, Seville, Spain, in 2005, York, UK, in 2006, and Kingston, Canada, in 2007.

UC Steering Committee: Thomas Bäck, Leiden, Cristian S. Calude, Auckland, co-chair, Lov K. Grover, Murray Hill, NJ, Jan van Leeuwen, Utrecht, Seth Lloyd, Cambridge, MA, Gheorghe Păun, Bucharest, Tommaso Toffoli, Boston, MA, Carme Torras, Barcelona, Grzegorz Rozenberg, Leiden, co-chair, Arto Salomaa, Turku.

Organising Committee

Ani Binder Rudolf Freund (chair) Franziska Gusel Marion Oswald

Programme Committee

Selim G. Akl, Kingston Cristian S. Calude, Auckland Barry Cooper, Leeds David Corne, Edinburgh José Félix Costa, Lisboa (co-chair) Erzsébet Csuhaj-Varjú, Budapest Michael J. Dinneen, Auckland Gerard Dreyfus, Paris Rudolf Freund, Vienna (co-chair) Eric Goles, Santiago Natasha Jonoska, Tampa, FL Jarkko Kari, Turku Vincenzo Manca, Verona Gheorghe Păun, Bucharest Ferdinand Peper, Kobe Petrus H. Potgieter, Pretoria Kai Salomaa, Kingston Karl Svozil, Vienna Carme Torras, Barcelona Hiroshi Umeo, Osaka Harold T. Wareham, St. John's Damien Woods, Cork Xin Yao, Birmingham

Proceedings Committee

Rudolf Freund, Vienna Cristian S. Calude, Auckland José Félix Costa, Lisboa Marion Oswald, Vienna Grzegorz Rozenberg, Leiden

Important Dates

Submissions Due:April 14^{th} , 2008Notification:May 12^{th} , 2008Final Versions Due:June 6^{th} , 2008